IceMagi

Cohost: In Memory

Cohost.org

I really can't believe Cohost is shutting down, though it seems many have expected it before me. After using it for almost two years, it's almost time to go.

Cohost (Magikoopa) Before I made this account anyway. This is my new home!

Ultimately, I wasn't very popular or well known on Cohost. While it wasn't listed, I only had eleven followers. What made Cohost special to me was removing the algorithms and public followers/shares/likes, so you would be less judgemental to check out a profile just because it was less popular than the next.

The conversations I've had were mostly civil, with a few jokes thrown here and there. There was no intention on gaining fame, but sharing my journey across various videogames such as Hollow Knight, Super Mario Bros. Wonder, and scores of various rhythm music games such as MUSYNX, Arcaea, Deemo, Lanota, Groove Coaster, Taiko, WACCA, and even more.

Social media naturally breeds anxiety. That one negative comment ruining your day, a fake account spamming hatred, or even something as simple as feeling insecure about having less likes than a peer; I've barely felt that way with Cohost compared to other social medias such as Twitter and YouTube.

My experience, while I don't intend to represent the entirety of Cohost's userbase, was exactly what the developers intended. If you knew someone who used Cohost, ask them what their experience was like.

This blog is not meant to be a replacement for Cohost, but a continuation of what I've learned. It's made me more confident to be myself, breed civility and respect (if you ignore me saying "What in the Final Fantasy Fuck" in utter sarcasm in that one post haha), and build from it.

I've said it a thousand times. I'd rather have a few friends than many followers. I'm not here for fame, I'm here to bring happiness to those who are curious.

Someone on Cohost suggested this website while everyone has moved to larger websites. This, Backloggery, bsky, and mstdn.games will remain my home for the near future.

No clue what's gonna happen next, so let's find out!